Honestly I love youtube. Maybe a bit too much, especially recently, now that my trial HSC is coming up. But I’ve been watching videos, and one video by a youtuber named “SunKissAlba” titled “My Plastic Surgery Story” put my problems in a new perspective.

Her video explains how as a teen she was bullied by the boys in her high school because of the spots on her face, and felt the need to reshape her body into an image of the celebrities and models whom everyone admired and idolised. She devalued herself and was never content with her body shape or looks, and considered plastic surgery as a route to gaining acceptance and popularity. It’s quite the traditional story of social pressure on teens.

For me, however, the story could not be more different. Attending an all-boy school with a powerful academic presence, there was not only no need to alter physical appearances, but an active stigma against it. Around the school there was an unspoken opposition towards those who expressed a difference or individuality through their clothing and a correlation between fashion and a lack of intelligence.

For that reason I never concerned myself with improving appearances and felt superior to other teenagers who engrossed themselves in the trivial, self-degrading matters of beauty and fashion.

But little did I understand that even at a respected, educational institution there were different social pressures exerting their influence on me, with the same debilitating effects of stress and low self-esteem.

While in the world of “SunKissAlba”, people are taught to idolise the perfect breast size, height, weight, facial features and complexion, in my world, students are told to strive for the top exam marks, academic prowess and studiousness.

I was never forced to reconsider my perspective of my bodily image, but I was made to assess my mental aptitude and compare myself to the highest performing students. I never hated the size of my legs or the shape of my face but I wondered if mental capacity and memory retention were signs of success in life. I laughed at being told how I should look, but mourned at being told how I should think.

These pressures are the two sides of the spectrum that makes up a human; the body and the mind. As a society we often recognise the dangers of curating an image of physical perfection, but fail to understand that seeking mental excellence is harmful too.

13117927_1707284226218535_1686292460_n

 

Found from “TheClassySister media”

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beauty: Intelligence

  1. Interesting thoughts! Where I live, the highest suicide rates among high school students are of those attending schools that stress academic perfection. I love youtube as well, I think you can learn a lot.

    Like

    1. Thank you 🙂 Personally I feel great right now after contemplating a while. For me, studying is great if you really enjoy it and there isn’t an emphasis on performance, but on your knowledge and enthusiasm. Thing is at top performing schools you have to race through the course and some don’t have the time to understand and take pleasure in their subject.
      YouTube is a blessing 😁

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

